California- Ethics for the Senior Market

Total Hrs / Order Price
1-5 $15.95
6-17 $24.95
18-24 $39.95
25-50 $49.95
51+ $49.95 + $2.00 per
additional hour over 50

Pricing based on total number of
hours in order.

Approved For:

  • Ethics

Credit Hours
4

Course Type
Online

DOI Number
213343

Publisher
FastrackCE, LLC

State
California

State
State CE Requirements

CE Course Description

The senior market in California is growing. The number of seniors in California is expected to double between 2000 and 2020, with approximately one in every five Californians over 65 by 2030. With California’s senior population expanding, it’s crucial for producers to understand the unique ethical challenges and issues specific to this market.

This course focuses on ethics for the senior market. It meets California 4-hour ethics training regulations and can be used to fulfill your California continuing education requirements for ethics. And it’s focused on helping insurance professionals develop a sound ethical foundation for building a senior-centered client base.

With this course, you’ll learn about ethical selling practices and issues specific to seniors—and how to make strong ethical decisions within a complex and challenging business environment. It provides you with the practical tools you need to operate with integrity across the broad senior market landscape. And it makes you aware of the many frauds and schemes targeting seniors in today’s marketplace. Topics covered include:

  • California laws and consumer protections regarding seniors.
  • Common schemes targeting seniors.
  • Suitability of products.
  • Fair claims practices.
  • Fair underwriting practices.
  •  Credit scoring.
  • Consumer privacy.
  • Fair sales practices.
  • Market conduct.
  • Consumer protection regulations.

This course is designed for working professionals. It’s delivered in an easy-to-download online format, allowing you to study on a schedule that’s convenient for you. And we get you study materials and test results quickly, so you can meet your California continuing education requirements within the deadline.

Order this course today—and start earning your California continuing education ethics credits without delay.

Required CE Hours for Renewal

  • Fire and Casualty Broker-Agent

    • 24 CE hours, including 3 hours of ethics, are required every 2 year license term regardless of years licensed.
  • Life Only Agents and/or Accident and Health Agents

    • Complete a minimum of 24 approved credit hours for that license type per each two-year license term, including 3 hours of ethics continuing education training. If the licensee solicits individuals for the sale of long-term care (LTC) insurance, beginning with the 12-month period ending in 1994, 8 of 24 hours must be in specially designated LTC courses
  • Dual Licenses

    • The CE requirement goes to the individual, not to each license held. The CE requirement can be met by taking courses approved for either license type.
  • Personal Lines Broker-Agent

    • Complete a minimum of 24 hours of CE each license term, including 3 hours of ethics continuing education training. The license term is defined as the two-year period beginning on the date the license was originally issued and ends two years later on the last day of the month that the license was originally issued
    • The Personal Lines Broker-Agent Licensee may satisfy this requirement by taking any approved fire and casualty continuing education course
  • Limited Lines Automobile Insurance Agent

    • Complete a minimum of 20 hours of CE each license term, including 3 hours of ethics continuing education training. The license term is defined as the two-year period beginning on the date the license was originally issued and ends two years later on the last day of the month that the license was originally issued.

Special Training/Education Requirements (LTC, Flood, Ethics, others)

  • Long Term Care -LTC

    • Initial LTC training requirement: Agents selling Long Term Care must complete an 8-hour state approved Long Term Care course every year for the first 4-years
    • On-going LTC training requirement:After completing the initial 8-hour training requirement, producers licensed 4 years or less must complete 8 hours of state-approved LTC training annually for the first 4 years of having their license. Producers licensed more than 4 years must complete 8 hours of state-approved LTC training in every 2-year license term.
  • Annuities

    • Initial training requirement: An approved 8 hour Annuity Training course must be completed prior to soliciting the sale of any annuity products.
    • On-going training requirement: An approved 4 hour Annuity Training Refresher course is required every renewal period thereafter.
    • These hours are part of, and not in addition to, the continuing education requirement.
  • Flood Insurance Training

    An insurance producer who sells flood insurance may satisfy the minimum training and education requirements by completing a 3-hour course related to the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) which was approved by CDI’s Producer Licensing Bureau’s Education Section
  • Homeowners Valuation

    • On or after June 27, 2011, prior to estimating the replacement value of structures or explaining the various levels of coverage under a homeowners' insurance policy, California resident agents and brokers who have not previously completed the homeowners' insurance valuation training, must do so. Completion of this course will fully meet the training requirements.
    • The training requirement is part of, and not in addition to, the agents and brokers’ continuing education requirements.

How are Hours Reported

In California, we report to the DOI within one business day (except holidays, reporting will be done on next business day). The department recognizes the date you passed/completed the exam as the date of completion. It is not based upon the day we report the hours to them

License Term

  • Fire and Casualty, Life and Health, Limited Lines: Last day of the month the license was issued in every 2 years. For example, Licensed on May 15th, 2010 your renewal date would be May 31st, 2012.
  • Personal Lines:
    • License term is the last day of the license issuance month renewed every 2 years.
  • Independent and Public Adjuster:
    • Before 1/1/11 license is renewed every even year on 5/31 and AFTER 1/1/11 license is renewed last day of license issuance month every 2 years

Course Type approved for Continuing Education

  • Online courses
  • Independent Self-study
  • Classroom Study

Final Exam

  • Non-Monitored Open Book Exam
  • Must answer at least 70% of the questions correct to pass. There is an unlimited amount of retakes.

Repeating Courses

  • A course may not be taken for credit more than once within a 2 year license term. Within the first 4 years of selling LTC products, producers may only repeat a LTC course every 24 months from the original course completion date.

Carry Over Hours

  • Hours may be carried over to the next year. Excess hours from an approved Ethics, Annuity or LTC course are carried over as a general credit only.

State Insurance Department

California Department of Insurance
320 Capitol Mall
Sacramento, CA 95814-4309

(800) 967-9331 or (916) 322-3555
www.insurance.ca.gov