Maryland- Workers Comp. Made Simple!

Total Hrs / Order Price
1-5 $15.95
6-17 $24.95
18-24 $39.95
25-50 $49.95
51+ $49.95 + $2.00 per
additional hour over 50
In addition: A State filing fee of $0.60 per credit hour will be added to the total

Pricing based on total number of
hours in order.

Approved For:

  • Property and Casualty

Credit Hours
15

Course Type
Online

DOI Number
3020

Publisher
FastrackCE, LLC

State
Maryland

State
State CE Requirements

CE Course Description

Workers’ compensation insurance is good for both employees and employers. It protects employees from loss of wages in case of on-the-job injury; and it can also protect employers from potentially debilitating lawsuits. Most states require companies to carry workers’ comp, and state laws dictate the details of policies. Agents who sell workers’ compensation insurance must understand workers’ compensation as a whole—as well as the laws affecting it in their state.

This course provides an in-depth overview of workers’ compensation insurance as a whole. You’ll learn the history of workers’ comp, how workers’ comp policies work, and how risk is calculated. You’ll also learn about compensation and claim procedures—and how claims are processed and judged.

This course is approved for continuing education in the subject of workers’ compensation insurance in your state. Topics covered include:

  • Intro to workers’ compensation.
  • Compensation and claim procedures.
  • The adjuster’s role.
  • Preparing for and managing claims.
  • Workers’ compensation policies.
  • Medical cost containment.
  • Understanding the language of medical reports.
  • Workers’ compensation and the human body.
  • Federal workers’ comp programs.
  • Workers’ compensation and state laws.

This course is available in convenient online format—making fulfilling your continuing education requirements quick and easy. Get access to course materials immediately after purchase, study when and where it works for you—and see your test results instantly. Order this course today and deepen your expertise in the area of workers’ compensation insurance.

Required CE Hours for Renewal in Maryland

  • All Licenses

    • 24 hours of CE credits each renewal period, out of the 24 hours 3 hours must be ethics.

Special Training/Education Requirements (LTC, Flood, Ethics, others)

  • State of Maryland-LTC

    • Agents wishing to sell Long Term Care are required to take a one time only state approved 2 hour Maryland Long Term Care Course.
  • Long Term Care -LTC

    • Agents wishing to sell Long Term Care are required to take a one time only 8 hour Department of Insurance certified course
    • Each license term thereafter each agent must complete a 4 hour Long Term Care Partnership CE course that is approved by the department.
  • Flood Insurance Training

    • An insurance producer who sells flood insurance must take 2 hours of approved flood courses every 2 years.

How Hours are Reported

  • CE completions are submitted electronically the next business day after a passing completion is acquired. A fee of $0.60 fee will be charged for processing of your credit hours for each course taken and will be added to your check out total.

License Term

  • EFFECTIVE APRIL 11, 2011 The license term will be every two years based upon the agents birth date.
  • EXAMPLE 1 Your current license expires 05/01/2011, and your date of birth is 10/25/75. In this case your license will be renewed once all documentation and fees are received and you will receive an expiration date of 10/31/2013.
  • EXAMPLE 2Your current license expires 01/02/2013, and your date of birth is 12/04/66. In this case your license will be renewed once all documentation and fees are received and you will receive an expiration date of 12/31/2015.

Course Type approved for Continuing Education

  • Online courses
  • Independent Self-study
  • Classroom Study

Final Exam

  • Final exams need not be monitored.
  • Final exams are open book.
  • A passing grade of at least 70% required to pass the course.

Carryover CE Hours

  • CE credits may NOT be carried over from one term to another.

Repeating Courses

  • Courses may NOT be taken for credit more than once in each renewal period.

Completion Certificates

  • Certificates of completion are available as soon as a course is completed with a passing grade. Certificates should be printed and kept on file.

Exemptions

  • Agents who are Maryland attorneys selling title insurance and are in good standing with the Maryland Court of Appeals.
  • Nonresident agents who are in good standing in their home state.

Maryland Insurance Administration


Toll Free Phone: 888-204-6198
Phone: 410-468-2006
Fax: 410-468-2399

Mailing Address:
Maryland Insurance Administration
Attn: Producer Licensing
200 St. Paul Place, Suite 2700
Baltimore, MD 21202

Web site: Maryland Insurance Administration