Ohio- Duties after Loss

Total Hrs / Order Price
1-5 $15.95
6-17 $24.95
18-24 $39.95
25-50 $49.95
51+ $49.95 + $2.00 per
additional hour over 50
In addition: A State filing fee of $1.00 per credit hour will be added to the total

Pricing based on total number of
hours in order.

Approved For:

  • General

Credit Hours
10

Course Type
Online

DOI Number
51879

Publisher
FastrackCE, LLC

State
Ohio

State
State CE Requirements

CE Course Description

No matter what type of insurance you sell, understanding the policy’s terms, conditions, and exclusions allows you to give more insightful advice to your clients—and become a valuable resource to both business and individual customers. You are not required to discuss every possible situation which might arise and whether that situation would be covered under the policy, but you must inform clients when the policy does not cover a particular risk about which they asked.

In this course, you’ll review some of the basic components of four common insurance policies: auto insurance, homeowners insurance, personal umbrella insurance, and workers’ compensation insurance. As an insurance professional, you should always point out the policy’s “Conditions” and “Duties After Loss” sections to your clients. Your insureds should read and understand their insurance policies so that they know what to do when a loss occurs. If insureds do not comply with the policy conditions, the insurance company could be relieved of its obligation to pay for the loss. Topics covered in this course include:

This course is approved for continuing education in the subject of workers’ compensation insurance in your state. Topics covered include:

  • Legal liability for accidents
  • Auto insurance coverages and insureds duty after loss
  • Homeowner insurance forms and insureds duty after loss
  • Personal umbrella policy and insureds duty after loss
  • Workers’ compensation and insureds duty after loss
  • Types of damages awarded after a loss

This course is offered in convenient online format, allowing you to build your expertise while satisfying your continuing education requirements—quickly and easily. Receive class materials immediately, study when and where it’s convenient for you, and see your exam results instantly after testing. Online education is ideal for busy professionals who need to fit their studies around a full-time job.

Required CE Hours for Renewal in Ohio

  • All Licenses

    • Effective January 1, 2011, Ohio resident insurance agents will need to comply with Ohio’s new continuing education (CE) laws. The key changes scheduled to go into effect at that time are:

    • Each individual issued an Ohio resident insurance agent license will be required to complete a minimum of twenty-four (24) hours of CE, every two (2) years, before they renew their license.
    • During the CE compliance period, each agent will be required to take at least three (3) hours of ethics training. Credit hours associated with ethics courses taken will be applied toward an agent’s 24-hour CE requirement.

Special Training/Education Requirements (LTC, Flood, Ethics, others)

  • Long Term Care -LTC

    • Agents wishing to sell Long Term Care are required to take a one time only 8 hour Department of Insurance certified course
    • Each license term thereafter each agent must complete a 4 hour Long Term Care Partnership CE course that is approved by the department.
  • Flood Insurance Training

    • An insurance producer who sells flood insurance may satisfy the minimum training and education requirements by completing a 3-hour course related to the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP).

How Hours are Reported

  • CE completions are submitted electronically the next business day after a passing completion is acquired.

License Term

  • Agents having a renewal date of 12/31/2010 will have until the last day of their birth month to renew their license. Those with birthdates in Jan, Feb, Mar, Apr, May and June 2011 will have a renewal date of 06/30/2011. After the 2011 renewal cycle agents will have until the last day of their birth month every two years to renew their license.
  • Agents having a renewal date of 12/31/2011 will need to renew their license by the last day of their birth month in 2012. Thereafter renewals will then be at the end of their birth month every two years.
  • Agents with licenses issured on or after 01/01/2010 will need to renew their license at the end of their birth month in the following year as long as the time frame does not excede 29 months from the date the license was issued.

Course Type approved for Continuing Education

  • Online courses
  • Independent Self-study
  • Classroom Study

Final Exam

  • Final exams do not need to be monitored and are closed book.

Carryover CE Hours

  • CE credits may not be carried over from one term to another.

Repeating Courses

  • Courses may not be taken more than once in each renewal period.

Completion Certificates

  • Certificates of completion are available as soon as a course is completed with a passing grade. Certificates should be printed and kept on file for 3 years.

Additional Information

Third Party Contact: Sircon
Phone: 877-876-4430
Fax: 404-656-0874

Web Site:Sircon

Ohio Department of Insurance

(614) 644-2658 or (800) 532-2170
(614) 644-3475

Email: licensing@insurance.ohio.gov

Mailing Address:
Ohio Department of Insurance
50 W. Town Street - Third Floor Suite 300
Columbus, OH 43215


Web site: Ohio Department of Insurance