Texas- Ethics for the Financial Svcs Practitioner

Total Hrs / Order Price
1-5 $15.95
6-17 $24.95
18-24 $39.95
25-50 $49.95
51+ $49.95 + $2.00 per
additional hour over 50
In addition: A State filing fee of $0.75 per credit hour will be added to the total

Pricing based on total number of
hours in order.

Approved For:

  • Ethics

Credit Hours
3.5

Course Type
Class Equiv.

DOI Number
98375

Publisher
Paul Winn

Final Exam
No Final Exam Required

State
Texas

State
State CE Requirements

CE Course Description

Ethics for the Insurance Practitioner examines the nature and scope of ethics, as the foundation of integrity and honesty, and its relationship to compliance in the insurance practice. It considers the tools and practices used in the sale of insurance, and it applies the principles of ethics and compliance to them. The nature and consequences of misleading sales practices are discussed.

The common law concept of agency is examined, and its application to compliance is considered. In addition, the legal concepts of “course of conduct and custom,” waiver, estoppel and election are examined and their effect on both agent and insurer liability is addressed.

Compliance and ethical guidelines are applied to the reviewing of sales tools, including the agent’s:

  • Stationery and business cards
  • Advertising and direct mail
  • Personal brochures
  • Articles written for publication

In addition to the agent’s sales tools, the sales process itself is examined with the intent of ensuring its compliance with legal and ethical standards. The areas in which ethical or compliances lapses may occur are detailed in each of the steps of the sales process.

Common ethical and compliance problems are examined, including churning, twisting, abuse of the “free look” privilege, rebating and misrepresentation. Particular consideration is given to the ethical and compliance requirements present in replacement cases, including the need for a complete comparison and a full and fair disclosure.

Required CE Hours for Renewal in Texas

50% of the CE renewal hours must be completed with a classroom equivalent course or in a classroom setting.

  • 24 hours including 2 hours of ethics and/or consumer protection every 2 year renewal term.

    • Life, Accident & Health
    • Property and Casualty
    • Adjusters
  • 10 hours including 2 hours of ethics and/or consumer protection every 2 year renewal term.

    • Limited Lines
    • County Mutual
    • Life under $15,000

Special Training/Education Requirements (LTC, Flood, Ethics, others)

  • Long Term Care -LTC

    • Agents wishing to sell Long Term Care are required to take a one time only 8 hour Department of Insurance certified course.
    • Each license term thereafter each agent must complete a 4 hour Long Term Care Partnership CE course that is approved by the department.
  • Flood Insurance Training

    • An insurance producer who sells flood insurance may satisfy the minimum training and education requirements by completing a 3-hour course related to the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP).

How Hours are Reported

  • CE completions are submitted electronically the next business day after a passing completion is acquired.

License Term

  • License renewal is every 2 years from the date that the license was originally issued.

Course Type approved for Continuing Education

  • Online courses
  • Independent Self-study
  • Classroom Study

Final Exam

  • Final exams do not need to be monitored and are open book.
  • Must score at least a 70% for a passing grade.

Carryover CE Hours

  • Carry over hours are not allowed in a license term.

Repeating Courses

  • Courses may not be taken more than once in each renewal period.

Completion Certificates

  • Certificates of completion are available as soon as a course is completed with a passing grade. Certificates should be printed and kept on file for future reference.

Additional Information

Third Party Contact: Sircon
Phone: 877-876-4430
Fax: 404-656-0874

Web Site:Sircon

Texas Department of Insurance

Toll Free Phone: (800) 578-4677
Phone: (512) 322-3503
Email: CE@tdi.state.tx.us

Mailing Address:
Texas Department of Insurance
Agents Licensing Unit, 107-1A
P O Box 149104
Austin, TX 78714

Web site: Texas Department of Insurance