Washington- Homeowners Insurance Made Simple

Total Hrs / Order Price
1-5 $15.95
6-17 $24.95
18-24 $39.95
25-50 $49.95
51+ $49.95 + $2.00 per
additional hour over 50

Pricing based on total number of
hours in order.

Approved For:

  • All Licenses

Credit Hours

Course Type

DOI Number

FastrackCE, LLC


State CE Requirements

CE Course Description

As an insurance agent selling homeowners insurance in the state of California, you play a vital role in protecting the residents of our state from the financial fall-out that results from the loss of a home.

California is home to almost 38 million people—and with its beautiful weather, gorgeous beaches, stunning mountain landscapes, and excellent quality of life, it’s no wonder so many choose to live here.

But there are some drawbacks to living in the Sunshine State—chief among them, natural disasters. California has experienced 32 natural catastrophes since 1990, resulting in over $19 billion in losses. Homeowners in California face a high rate of wildfires, flooding, and earthquakes—all of which have resulted in the loss of thousands of homes. Homeowners insurance ensures that the loss of a house doesn’t mean financial catastrophe for the homeowner.

This CE course will give you a thorough understanding of homeowner's insurance and how it works, typical policies and provisions, and the laws and regulations affecting its sale. Topics covered include:

  • Dwelling & homeowners insurance
  • Dwelling & homeowners policy coverage forms
  • Limits, deductibles, and exclusions
  • Coverages, conditions, and claims
  • General endorsements
  • The California Standard Form Fire Insurance Policy
  • Personal property insurance

This course is available in an easy-to-download online format, allowing you to meet California continuing education requirements easily and conveniently. Study in the comfort of your own home or office, on your schedule—and receive your test results instantly after completion. Order this course today and expand your expertise in homeowners insurance.

Required CE Hours for Renewal

  • All licenses (except resident adjusters)

    • Complete a minimum of 24 approved credit hours for that license type per each two-year license term, including three hours of ethics continuing education training.
  • Resident Adjusters

    • Complete 24** hours of CE, including 3 hours of ethics training. Must be completed during each license renewal period of two years.

      **24 hours of CE goes into effect 7/1/2022

Special Training/Education Requirements (LTC, Flood, Ethics, others)

  • Long Term Care -LTC

    • Agents wishing to sell Long Term Care are required to take a one time only 8 hour Department of Insurance certified course
    • Each license term thereafter each agent must complete a 4 hour Long Term Care Partnership CE course that is approved by the department.
  • Flood Insurance Training

    • An insurance producer who sells flood insurance may satisfy the minimum training and education requirements by completing a 3-hour course related to the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP).

How are Hours Reported

  • We will notify the Department of Insurance electronically completed hours within one business day. The licensee will also be rquired to self-report their completed hours to WAOIC. The licensee is required to print and keep the certificate of completion in their files for three years.

License Term

  • License term is every two years on the last day of the licensed agents birth date.

Course Type approved for Continuing Education

  • Online courses
  • Independent Self-study
  • Classroom Study

Final Exam

  • Non-Monitored Open Book Exam
  • Must answer at least 70% of the questions correct to pass.

Carryover CE Hours

  • CE credits may not be carried over from one term to the next.

Repeating Courses

  • Courses can not be repeated in a three year period.

Completion Certificates

  • Certificates of completion are available as soon as a course is completed with a passing grade. Certificates should be printed and kept on file for 3 years.

Non-residents (except for LTC)

  • Nonresident agents wanting to sell LTC products will have to complete the same courses as resident agents.

State of Washington, Office of Ins. Commissioner
Agents/Brokers Division

CE information (360) 725-7146 or (800) 725-7146
Renewal information (360) 725-7144
Fax (360) 586-2019
Email: licinfo@oic.wa.gov

Mailing Address:
State of Washington, Office of Ins. Commissioner
Agents/Brokers Division
P.O. Box 40255
Olympia, WA 98504-0255